Making Lemonade

lemonI’ve long heard the great advice: If life throws you a lemon, make lemonade with it! And in my typical sass retorted: Sure, if only life would throw me some sugar and a copious amount of water too!

Thus, in my almost twelve years of single-parenting a ‘special needs child’- and almost twenty-two of single-parenting on a whole- I’ve squeezed some juicy lemons to make a concentrate, not believing that a wellspring of water elsewhere flowed. Or, that the honeycomb I needed was available.

Today, however, I’ve come to accept that lemon juice is great for washing fish and providing a scintillating- and delicious- satisfaction to thirst on a hot, sunny day. Today, I recognize that what at first seemed too acidic and abrasive to life, was the makings of a lemonade stand, an anti-aging treatment, anti-depressant and a plethora of possibilitieslemonade for turning acrimony into  positive results –45 uses for lemons.

So, as my first jug of lemonade, I announce my decision to begin a treatment center and school for children with learning and other difficulties. For now, the ‘stand’ is just a plan- that would require great acreage to adequately fulfill. But I’m starting in one house with just a few beautiful and special children.

I’ve found that I have had the sugar all along. In places I had not thought to look. I’ve found the lemon tree planted by the rivers of water- from which I can  incessantly draw. Now, I have poured my first glass and I’ve added some ice. So, let the games begin!

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

Leave a Reply

