Oh God it’s Monday!

I got up sleepy this morning. Yes! I awoke before four to hang out the clothes I left in the machine yesterday, to mop the floor, prepare breakfast and post a blog before leaving the house for a ten o’clock appointment.

Now, I guess all the regular Monday to Friday workers- particularly moms- must have gotten up at about that time too- to cook, pack lunches, drop children off at whatever venues they would be kept during this school vacation, dress and set off to commute to their places of employment.

I do recall the stress of the “rat race” that makes one say on the last work day, “THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY!!! After rushing and racing through the entire week, one takes the time for an after work “lime” or to simply kick off the shoes and recline, knowing that tomorrow, the alarm clock would not ring at five (or four or three!).

It is probably that alarm that brings the Monday morning blues. The interruption to sleep after two days (un)rest- cleaning, washing, ironing, scrubbing- all in preparation for a next work week. Well, after lazing around all day, yesterday, watching back to back episodes of If loving you is wrong, I awoke early to finish my chores before meeting with my publisher today.

Yea! I have a meeting with MY PUBLISHER! Isn’t that great? Things are looking up. Getting off the ground. So, while I would like to just go back to sleep, I have to join others in saying, “Oh God, it’s Monday!” I have to get to work. This is my “work” and I hope to do it as diligently as anyone else. So, I hope that there would be other Oh God it’s ….day, and ….o’clock, as I rush to meet deadlines and keep appointments.

Sounds exciting! Anyway, time is ticking away. I’ve got to go!

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

1 thought on “Oh God it’s Monday!”

Leave a Reply

