Parable of the Trees

Adapted from the Biblical account- Judges 9: 7-15

beautiful-nature-hd-wallpapers-free-download-e1396517919982

The story is told

Of the great forest trees,

Who desired a king

Like their enemies.

 

They asked of the olive,

“Will you be king?

Come rule over us!”

Who has heard such a thing?

 

But, the olive replied,

“I’ll not cease my oil

To sway over trees

And, trade purpose for toil!”

 

Then, they called to the fig tree                        bigstock-fruits-figs-on-white-backgroun-46131991

“Brother, surely you’ll reign!

But they heard the same

Sentiment repeated again.

 

“I’ll not cease my good fruit

And sweetness,” he said

“To lord over you.

Or, be your head”.

 

So, in similar manner                                    wine-grapes

They petitioned the vine

But, he too refused, saying

“Shall I leave my new wine?”

 

Disheartened, they bowed

To the bramble and thorn.

“We’ll anoint you as king:

Turn our world upside-down!”

 

“Sure! Lay under my shade

I’ll sway over your head.

Else, I’ll kindle a fire

To destroy you instead”.

bush fire

Now the lesson to learn:

“To thine own self be true”

Give reverence to

What’er defines you.

 

For a woo to the top

Though enchanting may be

Serves only to lure

From your destiny.

hummingbird

We all have a purpose-

The thing for which born.

To live without purpose

Is to not live at all!

 

 

 

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

Leave a Reply

