Release Me

I awoke today, thinking of a piece I wrote twenty years ago. I thought of it today, because   much of my yesterday was spent counselling three young women who called at varying times for advice- each,  expressed some level of disconnect from family and friends.

I do not know how common a phenomenon this is, but I suspect that the most “connected” many have ever felt is now, with thousands of  “friends” on social media. What remains vital- and sometimes sadly lacking- though, is that small circle of family and friends to get one through the dry periods of life.

This poem was written from a dream I had. I never knew exactly of whom it spoke. But, my solitude of that time may have well positioned me the fate envisioned therein. I write it, here, hoping that such misery will be averted by present friends and physical connections.

lonely walk

I see her walking

Old Familiar Road:

A broken caricature of

a woman, only

too young

to call a hag.

She turns as I

mention her name.

Her face-

a twisted agony-

tries, in vain, to smile.

While in her house

are gathered, villagers-

very few- who

have come to pay

their last respects.

They all stand in silent

reminiscence;

hearts torn ‘twixt

sorrow

and relief at her death.

A wooden crate:

her makeshift box,

stands atop a makeshift frame-

the only furnishing of

the wide, empty house.

And her son:

her next of and

only kin,

stands peering through

its creases.

He is too small

to look inside

and too young to

understand

this untimely demise.

heart-mind-body-spirit

No priest is there

to bless

her soul departed.

No songs are sung

to give her spirit wings.

But, as mourners await the

eulogizing pun of words

to dignify her wretched life,

her spirit roams its

well-worn path,

still seeking-

silently pleading-

for relief.

girl_walking_in_the_hazy_light

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

Leave a Reply

