Self-Discovery!

 

there-are-only-two-mistakes-one-can-make-along-the-road-to-truth-not-going-all-the-way-and-not-starting

 

Today I want to share a poem from my soon to be released book, Ayomide, which means “My joy has arrived”. There is a peace that comes with knowing Self and finding that inner beauty that defines who you are. But the road to self-discovery is undoubtedly “the road less travelled”. So, for those of us who dare to take this path, a happy day!

Don’t!

Don’t tell me that

The grass is no greener

On the other side;

That the naughty boy

Who wondered

Found the ground as hard.

 

Don’t tell me that

The dew that waters Eden

Feeds the world.

Or, deter me from

The questing

Of my soul

 

Don’t detest me for

The choice I’ve made.

For though fourscore be

Still eighty there,

At least I’d earn

My destiny.

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

Leave a Reply

