Words can’t express

Today’s Word Prompt is “Apology”. I am  required to write or write about one I’ve made or gotten. Honestly, I think my apologies have all been made, thus far. But I did receive one many years ago which I wish had been more sincere. This poem is an attempt to conveyed the assumed hard-to-express emotions of the offender while giving a little insight into his clumsy attempt.

b33e0c791882d5a52c7f674f61ff253c

 

Frozen,

words unspoken;

stuck, blocked

by years of memories

pushed

into oblivion.

 

Broken,

words remain

disjointed, un-

connected

in my mind.

And it’s not easy

even now to say

I’m sorry.

 

For inside I know

I did exactly

what I intended, and

I regret even now,

only that my act

was not reciprocated.

 

But the obvious

hurt resulting

from my impropriety

has left me

frozen; you

broken-hearted

and us estranged.

For this, I do

apologize.

 

 

Author: mywrite2016

I am a freelance writer living in the Caribbean country of Trinidad and Tobago. Author of three self-published books- No More Tears, To Kryss with Love and Dust Yourself Off and Try Again. I am the mother of two girls- 21 and 11 years old- a teacher and trained nurse.

Leave a Reply

